BE-YOU-tiful.

Okay, so, how many times have any of you’ll googled “How to get someone to fall for you?” and found the exact same advice everywhere. “Be yourself.” Nuts, right?

Well, dear How To articles, that’s exactly what i have been trying to do. It didn’t work and hence i’m on this site!

I wished someone would just link me to a website that would tell me how to be the female version of Barney Stinson or like Scarlett Johansson, minus the looks.

I’m sure all of you’ll have also faced rejection in some way, or felt like you aren’t good enough. You spend days crying and wondering what you could do to finally be exactly the kind of girl he wants to be with and the girl every other girl wants to be like. But who decided that women should look a certain way or dress in a certain way to attract someone?

Then I realized something, any man who can’t see the beauty in us doesn’t deserve us. And no one has the right to make us feel like crap. All women are beautiful in their own way. You may think you are too fat, maybe you’re just huggable. And if you think you’re too skinny, i’m sure many would love to be like you too. I personally am extremely skinny, and I always hated people pointing it out to me. I mean, hello! I do own a mirror and I see myself everyday. I tried everything I could to gain some weight and some self esteem, but it never worked. So I stayed holed up in my room, never socializing, never going out. And for what? So that some self absorbed girls would stop making me feel like a horrible about myself?

But you know, if you want to please everyone around you, you will never be good enough. You will always be too thin, too fat, too short, too tall, too this, too that. You need to realize that in the end, it is your body. They may be entitled to their opinion, but they can’t make you feel bad if you love yourself for exactly what you are.

Beauty isn’t a size. I no longer care if people think i’m too skinny. This is my body. If they don’t like it, screw it. Their opinion about the amount of space my body occupies is a reflection of their mindset, not mine.

Women bring themselves and inadvertently others down by commenting on their bodies. Saying stuff like, “Only dogs go for bones, real men prefer curves” or making hurtful fat people jokes, we are just bringing down our gender and insulting ourselves. People from all the different countries have worked so hard to stop the oppression of women. We say it’s over in the developed countries, but is it really? Aren’t we oppressing each other? And that too without the help of all the narrow minded and old fashioned misogynistic cowards? We shouldn’t try to make a joke out of our own gender.

Instead of fighting with each other, we must all stick together to bring about a more tolerant society.

They say beauty lies in the eye of the beholder. So we must all find that beauty inside of all of us and learn to love each other.

Beauty is not in the face, beauty is a light in the heart. -Khalil Gibran. Image

Leave a Reply

